Republican Delegate Results

Governor Mitt Romney was the overwhelming choice when delegates were elected to the Republican National Convention in the May 8th primary.  Romney received 21 of the 28 delegates elected in the primary. Former Senator Rick Santorum won 2 delegates and 5 were uncommitted.  No delegates were received by Congressman Ron Paul or former House Speaker Newt Gingrich.

Three GOP State Party officials are automatically delegates to the August convention in Tampa.  They are National Committeewoman Donna Gosney and National Committeeman James Reed and newly elected party chair Conrad Lucas.  All three are committed to Romney.

Romney will have 24 of the 31 delegates going to the convention in August.

Romney delegates elected At-Large (statewide) were Donna Boley, St. Marys; Bob Ashley, Spencer; Michael Greer, Bridgeport; Rachel Amrine, Fairmont; Rick Barnett, St. Albans; Daniel Amrine, Fairmont; Mark Browning, South Charleston; Bonnie Hersman, Buckhannon; Jerry Mays, Martinsburg;  Andy McKenzie, Wheeling; Bill Phillips, Elkins; Todd Gunter, Charleston; Brian Long, Glen Dale; Tom O’Neill, Buckhannon; and James C. Kline, III, Charleston.

Others chosen At-Large were Santorum delegates are Cindy Frich and Kris Warner both of Morgantown and uncommitted Bill Maloney, Morgantown; and Betty Ireland, Charleston.

Elected from the first congressional district were Romney delegates Tom Azinger, Parkersburg; Bob Harman of Keyser and uncommitted Frank Deem of Vienna.  Second district Romney delegates includes Charlottee Lane and Chris Dodrill from Charleston and uncommitted Mike Hall of Hurricane.  Romney delegates in the third congressional district are Marty Gearhart, Bluefield and Conrad Lucas of Huntington.  Rick Snuffer, Beaver is uncommitted.

More results may be found on the Secretary of State website.

Leave a Reply